top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

Begin the Year with God


For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11


2024 is here! For many, that means trying to fulfill resolutions that they had made back during the Christmas holidays whether it be to lose weight, make more money, make more friends, etc. As a Christian, my resolution was to grow more in Christ and get closer to Him. That simply is my resolution for every day of my life. I spend a lot of my time reflecting on my past, and I have realized that though parts of it have been painful, my life has gone the way it has because of my own choices. Before I allowed God to guide me on this journey called life, I always went my own way and did what I wanted. Since I am now listening to God and praying for Him to guide me, I do feel that I am doing the right thing and that my life will end up where it was meant to. I do admit that I still wish things had gone a certain way or that certain people were still in my life, but I know that everything happens for a reason. We may not know the reason, but God has his reasons for everything and that is all that matters. Everyone has experience something bad where it be the lost of a loved one, lost friends, lost a job, etc., but even in that God has his reasons for allowing that to happen. In the case of someone losing a job, God may have an even better one for you or may have better friends for you if you've lost some others. I have realized that I must trust Him and know that He will always be here for me and will guide me to live the life that He has laid out for me, not the life that I want. People make mistakes, God doesn't.


Being a new year, I of course thanked God for allowing me to make it through another one. It was a very hard year, but I am still making it. However, I do not just thank Him for that but I also thank Him for allowing me to wake up each day to live for Him. I have this routine in the morning of thanking Him for not only that but also for still having my mom, my dog, and a few other people that have always stood by me and love me. Some can not say that they have things like that to be thankful for. I realize that I am blessed to have the things that I do though sometimes I may be feel selfish and want more. I still wish my dad was still here, but I have accepted that God had his reason for taking him. Since we lost dad, mom and me are closer so that is an example of something good coming out of something bad.


Whether it be a new year or simply a new day, we should strive to be the best Christians as we can be. We are suppose to live our lives just like Jesus would if He was here. We should do what we can to spread the Gospel to others. This world will not be around forever. God wants everyone to come to Him though sadly, that will not be the case. People are people unfortunately. There will always be those that believe and those that don't. As a Christian, I believe in Him and am so thankful that God sent Jesus to die for me. I want to not just love Him during this year but I want to love Him forever as He always have loved me.


May everyone have a blessed 2024!! Everyday is a blessing! Cherish it!!! Be thankful for it!!! Be kind and love God and others!!!

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page