top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

The Importance of Friendship

Updated: Nov 10, 2023


Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. John 15:13


So I am a very quiet and shy person so it is hard for me to make friends. When I first gave my life to Christ, of course my preacher mentioned the importance of fellowship with others. I told him, "Baby steps. There are introverts. Then there's me". Yep, I'm that bad! lol The church was holding a fellowship dinner that same night. I passed on it since I was still emotional from my decision and nervous. My mom and me have been to many more dinners since my church holds a monthly dinner, but I still get nervous. I don't do crowds. I have a very hard time just walking up to someone and initiating a conversation. I never know what to say.


Now online, I can be considered a big mouth lol I've made some great friends online. I've been talking to people since the yahoo messenger and yahoo chat room days. Yea, I'm that old. I actually met my bestie/BFF who is now like a sister to me on yahoo way back in the day. We hit it off immediately and are still friends over 20 yeas later and we've been close for most of those years. I have a few more close friends as well like my crazy country friendl! There's also my sweet totally cute nerdy friend...I know....ya going to hate me for that...lol. There are also two really amazing God loving friends at my church who I also love as sisters. There are a few others as well. I love you all dearly!! 💗


Though I know that I have awesome friends, I've realized that I could have had even more than I do if I have given some thought into my actions and words. I have pushed away some people that I know would have been great friends as well. I believe that everything happens for a reason though. I do think of them often and hope they are doing well.


So as a friend, I am that person that is always there for them 100%...some might even say I'm there too much. If I sense a friend is down, I'm always like..."Are you ok?" I always try my best to listen and be there for them and help them if I can. In my eyes, I always thought that I was the perfect friend. I have realized though that despite me being that great of a friend, the friendships that I have made still aren't the best that they could be because God was not a part of them then. However, since I have put God first in my life. I feel it in my soul that my friendships are more than they ever were. I have even apologized to my friends for anything that I have ever said or done to hurt them in the past. I have also went to some other people that have left me because of the way I was in the past and tried to make things right. Some have understood and we are friends again. That means a lot.


I believe the most important thing in any friendship is putting God first. I also believe that for a friendship to work, both people have to give it all in being a good friend. It can't be one sided. I have been through some hard times. That is when you really realize who your true friends are. They stick by you no matter what. I can never thank ya'll enough for that! Ya'll mean the world to me!! 💗


Most people will be like, "It's great to have friends". Though that is true, the even greater truth is that God wants us to have meaningful relationships with others through his love. He wants us to talk and spend time together in fellowship. That is how we can spread his love to others. As Christians, we should always be thinking of how we can talk to others and tell them about God whether we are at a store, restaurant, etc. For that reason, I am doing my best to get out of my comfort zone and trying to talk to others though it is hard for me. Writing this blog is also a way for me to spread God's love. I am praying and hoping that my blogs will reach not just people near me but others all over the world.


Love God. Be a friend. Be kind. Be understanding.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page